Richard Maspero

The Augusta National experience

Leave a comment

I was lucky enough to be at Augusta National the 2nd weekend of April for the 77th Masters. I was covering it for SuperSport, and just being there was an unbelievable experience. Television simply doesn’t do it justice. It’s more spectacular, in better condition AND more undulating than I’d imagined.

The tournament runs like a well oiled machine, largely due to the fact they’re the only major venue to host a tournament every year. In case you didn’t know it was Masters week, everything is branded with the logo, from the sachets of sugar, to the plastic cups cold drinks are served in.

20130503-210820.jpg

They also look after the media exceptionally well. The facilities are top notch, and while they are sticklers for the rules, it’s does ensure they run a tight ship. They also run a rather neat competition for the press. Each year, the working media get to put their names down for a round at Augusta National the Monday after the tournament ends. I’d heard rumors about this draw, and upon enquiring, found out it was indeed true. So I did what any avid golfer would do, I put my name in the hat and said a little prayer… The golfing gods were clearly listening, as I received my invite on Saturday afternoon.

20130503-211237.jpg

Not only did i have to fork out a kidney to pay for changing my travel plans, I also had to organise weapons. Augusta National does not rent clubs. Understandable if you consider you can only play there with a member, and they’re not gonna invite someone who hasn’t got sticks. Fortunately, after some asking around, I was pointed me in the direction of a local course, that did indeed help me out.

20130503-213535.jpg

Not bad for a rental set. I also stocked up on balls, as I didn’t fancy running out with 3 holes to play, and having to walk the rest.

So what was it like to play the most exclusive golf course in the world? In a word, unreal. They treated us the same way they treat the pros. The experience started with Magnolia lane. Normally off limits during the tournament, we were able to drive down it, and were greeted at the clubhouse by a valet who took care of parking.

20130503-223310.jpg

We got to have breakfast in the clubhouse, before being shown to the champions locker room. Sharing a locker with Sir Nick Faldo and Trevor Immelman was great!

20130503-220407.jpg

After a few shots on the range with the rentals we were off. I also got to meet my playing partners. A commentator from China, the director of the world feed, and his colleague who cuts highlights. A nice bunch of blokes.

20130503-221111.jpg

They had pretty miserable weather on Sunday, and I was expecting the course to be slightly soggy. It wasn’t. The sub air system they have in place meant it was bone dry. I was expecting the greens to be slightly quicker though, pretty much glass in fact. Make no mistake, they’re rapid, but that’s not the problem, the undulations are. Sometimes noticeable, sometimes not, I had very few straight putts.

It’s not just that, I found it difficult to hold the greens. You have to be so precise with your approach shots. Err slightly and you run off the green. Then it’s a tough chip and almost always a two putt bogey. We spoke to Branden Grace during the week. He apparently told some of his friends back home that if he put them on the green in regulation, but at a spot of his choosing, they wouldn’t break 90. He’s not far off with his assessment.

Unfortunately we had to play off the club tees. I had been hoping to tackle it off the tips. I’d played the day after the Joburg Open off the pro tees and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. However they’d taken the tees away, and even roped off some of the pro boxes. I understand its not for everyone, but it would’ve been nice to be given the option. I got home in two on 3 of the four par 5’s. I hit driver, 7 iron on 15, and driver, SW on 18. Just a small gripe, but honestly i wouldn’t have minded shooting 100 if it was EXACTLY the same conditions as the pros had.

20130506-190226.jpg

Amen Corner was incredible. Tough, but highly enjoyable. Rae’s Creek, Hogan Bridge, just the photo opportunities there were unbelievable. The fact that I managed to get through it in 1 over par made it all the more satisfying.

20130506-222043.jpg

So lets talk numbers. I shot an 83 off a 7 handicap. 11 over, on a major championship course (albeit club tees) and with a rental set. Not a bad outing. In hindsight I squandered a couple of shots, but if I’m completely honest, posting a decent score was not really first priority. I simply wanted to take in as much of the course as possible, get as many photos as possible, and just enjoy the experience.

I think I succeeded in doing that, and will fondly remember the four and a bit hours I spent treading the hallowed turf of Augusta National.

Leave a comment